Washing Your Brushes

IMG_0392IMG_0393

Hey Guys and Gals, This is the BIGGEST effort we all have to go through cleaning the ole brushes … makeup comes with a price and this has to be it ! I thought since I was washing them I’d show you what I use.

Today I was just cleaning my face brushes and sponge , as you can tell they are really nasty from foundation but we shall soon fix that!

Basically there is TONS AND TONS of ways to clean your brushes , everyone has a different way of doing it, this is my way but I switch between two.

1- Baby shampoo 

This is a fast , cheap and effective way of doing this without buying the special brush shampoo for 20 euro , any baby shampoo is fine , it doesn’t have to be Johnsons , I normally use the giant Aldi bottle but I ran out.

All you do is wet your brush plop a dollop of the shampoo on and swirl in circular motions on the palm of your hand and rinse, repeat until clear from foundation and suds.

When you are doing this with your sponge just massage the shampoo through the sponge focusing on the stained areas and just rinse.

2-Mac Brush Cleanser

IMG_0396.JPG

This is the Lazy way, If you want a quick clean/ disinfect if you are in a rush just pour the cleanser onto a tissue or cotton ball and twist the brush in it after a few secounds it should be clean/disinfected enough to use for a full face application.

You can also use the cleanser in replacement for the shampoo also and do the same routine.

I would not try the quick method with the sponge just for sanitary reasons , the sponge collects more bacteria compared to the brushes because its damp and softer, doing a full cleanse on your brush at least every 2-3 uses is best! 🙂

Thank you for reading.

Slán agus beannacht x

IMG_0395.JPG

Leave a comment